An Opinion About An Opinion

What is about to happen is something you will rarely see, I am going to blog in 1st person throughout. I must say, I am not quite sure how I feel about this. In a sense, writing in 1st person would give you an idea of who I am/what kind of person I am and yes I think that’s the part I’m actually not sure how I feel about. Actually, I don’t even know why I have just explained myself. Nonetheless, let me get right into it. We are all entitled to our own opinions on any situation. We are privileged enough to confidently voice out our views on certain topics. Freedom of speech, that’s what it is.

Oh no, I really shouldn’t have blogged in first person, look at how pathetic my introduction was and only 20% of it covers what the title says. Come to think of it, this is probably the reason why I don’t write in first person, I end up blabbering about things that are so irrelevant. Alright, back to the topic – An opinion about an opinion…

What is an opinion? An opinion is a personal comment on a particular issue that one states without much reference to actual facts – that’s my opinion, my understanding of what it is. Although it is a quite seldom occurrence for somebody to ask for your thoughts on something, the moment we hear something that affects us directly or indirectly even, we find ourselves bursting out comments. I would call it a verbal reflex reaction, however, sometimes we don’t quite voice out our thoughts when we hear something yet we still say it in our minds… Mental reflex reaction.

Moving on from biological terms that I kinda just made up, an opinion can cause rage and bad vibes among people and that normally happens when you claim that your opinions are facts. It is hard to justify a strong point especially if you going to speak with highest form of modality, using words such as ‘will’ and ‘is going to’ will give us a sense your opinion is factual. People are always seeking things to catch feelings from hence play it safe by beginning your thoughts with, ‘I feel like…’ or ‘I think that…’ to avoid conflict.

If you are going to say something, back it up with your observations. It is important to let us know that what you are saying is something you have experienced. I mean, if it is not a fact the least you could do is convince us that it is with clear and valid points. Be attentive to the opinions of others and understand where their claims originated from and state opinions that matter and will potentially enlighten others in some way.

 

Fine print: i don’t know how this escalated from me merely talking about an opinion to me giving out lessons on how to state relevant opinions.

Leave a Reply

